top of page

2024 Annual Meeting Highlights

The Orange County REMC Annual Meeting, themed "Powering Resilience," took place on June 7, 2024, at the co-op's location north of Orleans on Highway 37. This year's event set a new attendance record with 534 registered members and a total of 1,352 attendees, including family members.

The event featured a catered meal from Schnitzelbank, and members received a lawn chair as a gift. Attendees enjoyed live music by Kirby Stailey, adding to the festive atmosphere. Children were entertained with various activities, including a bounce house, obstacle course, airbrush face painting, and crafts.

President Randy Roberts welcomed attendees and called the meeting to order. CEO/General Manager Matt Deaton introduced the board of directors. The board includes:

  • Daniel Houchin (District 1)

  • Randy Roberts (District 2)

  • Danny Easterday (District 3)

  • Brett Busick (District 4)

  • Ben Lindsey (District 5)

  • Brian Hawkins (District 6)

  • George Key (District 7)

Brian Hawkins presented the secretary/treasurer's report in Daniel Houchin's absence. Attorney John Paul Isom explained the voting procedures and announced that Hawkins was running unopposed and would retain his position for another three-year term. The District 3 board seat election featured three candidates: Carey Jenkins, Carl Anderson, and Brent Brown. After the votes were counted, Carl Anderson was elected as the new District 3 board member in replace of Danny Easterday.

Deaton provided updates on the fiber project and announced that Orange County REMC currently services 12,300 members/customers on their network. Meter Technician Josh Coles highlighted how the co-op impacts the community and employees.

Deaton recognized the ten employees and one director who have hit career milestones. Charles Hopper, Mason Webster, Ashley McDonald, Logan Laswell, Montana Roberts, and Braden Mitchell are employees with five years of service. Michael Newlin and Billy Chastain are employees with fifteen years of service. Ashley Terrell was recognized for twenty years of service. Lastly, Randy Roberts was recognized for thirty-five years of service.

The event's success and record-setting attendance reflect the strong community engagement and the cooperative spirit that defines Orange County REMC. The theme "Powering Resilience" underscores the cooperative's commitment to providing reliable service and fostering resilience within the community.

The meeting concluded with prize drawings donated by our generous local businesses and vendors: Kirby Hardware, John Jones Auto, Milsoft, Midwest Utility Supply, Pro Tree Care, Suddarth Realty, Brownstown Electric, P&C Contracting, Mid-Southern Savings Bank, FiberSmith, Indiana Electric Cooperatives, Dubois County Tire & Supply, Orange County Cutters Lawn Care, Superior Small Engines, Millennium, Springfield Electric, WBIW, United Utility Supply, Electricom, Lucas Indiana Realty, Mitchell Ben Franklin/Ace, Parr Richey, Eckarts, J & S Sportswear, NISC, Altec Supply, Brownstown Electric, Hoosier Hardware, Gray Company, Galloway Group, WUME, Cintas, Riley Oil Company, Monroe Shine, Redbud, Springs Valley Bank & Trust, and Power & Tel.


Watch the Annual Meeting



bottom of page